PROF. RUTH ARNON

Formerly Vice-President of the Weizmann Institute of Science (1988-1997), is a world renowned Immunologist. Prof. Arnon joined the Weizmann Institute in 1960. Prior to her appointment as Vice-President, she served as Head of the Department of Chemical Immunology, and as Dean of the Faculty of Biology. From 1985 to 1994, she was the Director of the Institute's MacArthur Center for Molecular Biology of Tropical Diseases.

Prof. Arnon has made significant contributions to the fields of vaccine development, cancer research and to the study of parasitic diseases. Along with Prof. Michael Sela, she developed **Copaxone**® a drug for the treatment of multiple sclerosis which was approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, and is presently marketed in the USA, Canada the EU, Australia and many other countries worldwide.

Prof. Arnon is a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences, and was the Chairperson of its Sciences division from 1995-2001 and was later elected as The Academy's Vice President.

On the world scene, she is an elected member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO). She has served as President of the European Federation of Immunological Societies (EFIS), and as Secretary-General of the International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS), and is presently a member of the European Union Research Advisory Board (EURAB) and served as the Senior Vice-President of the Association of Academies of Sciences in Asia (AASA). In 2004 Prof. Arnon served as the President of the Association of Academies of Sciences in Asia (AASA).

Her awards include the Robert Koch Prize in Medical Sciences, Spain's Jiminez Diaz Memorial Prize, France's Legion of Honor, the Hadassah World Organization's Women of Distinction Award, the Wolf Prize for Medicine, the Rothschild Prize for Biology and the Israel Prize; Tel-Hai; Honorary doctorate from the University of the Negev, Ben-Gurion. The AESKU Prize for Life Contribution to Autoimmunity by the 6th International Congress on Autoimmunity. Elected to the American Philosophical Society.

In 2010 Prof. Arnon was elected as President of The Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

(updated: 2012)